fbpx
2019 | 04 The Nether

2019 | 04 The Nether

The Nether

By Jennifer Haley

Directed by Jennifer Hutton

April 26-May 12, 2019

In the near future, the Internet has evolved into the Nether, a vast network of virtual reality realms where users may assume any identity and indulge any desire. In a particularly dark corner of this realm, the line between imagination and depravity is dangerously blurred, leading a detective to interrogate its creator. The ethical issues raised by this encounter resonate beyond The Nether and into the real world. Winner of the 2012 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize, The Nether is both a serpentine crime drama and haunting sci-fi thriller that explores the consequences of living out our private dreams.

“For fans of Black Mirror, Westworld, Surrogates…The Nether is sure to satisfy”  ~Broadway World

“Deeply disturbing and provocative” ~The Independent

“Dark, perverse, and immensely fascinating” ~Marisa Arellano

The Nether arrives Friday, April 26, and runs through May 12; showtimes are Fridays and Saturdays at 8:00 pm, Sundays at 2:00 pm, at the Acrosstown Repertory Theater (619 South Main Street, Gainesville, FL, 32601, in the historic Baird Center across from Heartwood Soundstage and next door to Akira Wood). There is a $5 “sneak preview” performance on Thursday, April 25.

Stick around after the show to meet our cast and crew, including Jorge DeJesus as Papa, Andrea Young as Morris, Zachary Simon as Woodnut, Jesse Vale as Doyle, and introducing Erin Little as Iris.

Purchase your tickets using a credit card or PayPal today: Tickets are $15 for the general public with a $2 discount for seniors (55+), students, veterans and active military, and may be purchased below. A limited number of tickets may also be available at the door thirty minutes before showtime.

Warning: Adult situations and themes

Unfortunately, we are experiencing intermittent difficulty with our online ticketing system. But fear not, there are still plenty of tickets available for The Nether! Just visit us at the box office starting 30 minutes prior to the show. We accept cash and credit cards. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Tickets are available at the door for the following performances:

Saturday, May 11, 2019 at 8:00PM

Sunday, May 12, 2019 at 2:00PM